May 27, 2013

  • Devotional…

    I saw something today…and it moved me.
    I tend to think of Memorial Day in terms of military, current or past service. But around here, people visit graves of people they lost…which is a sort of lovely tradition. A friend was showing me around Hamilton’s church yard, and we came across a man…quite old, and infirm. (I am betting he was 90). He stood by one grave—the stone was mossy, so clearly his loss was not recent. He was talking to his wife. Not whispering…not shouting. Just…talking. He needed two canes to walk…but he was determined to visit…and visit he did. He just sort of nodded as we passed.

    I heard him say “Well, that’s all for now honey…I’ll be back.” And the tears sprang to my eyes. I don’t know their story. All I know is that someone misses his lady enough to visit her…on a beautiful late Spring afternoon. No hearts…no flowers…just a very special kind of devotion.

    May we all know what it is to be remembered…

Comments (1)

  • this is so sweet. I think we all hope someone will visit us after we’re gone, but we’ll never really know for sure.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply