March 27, 2013

  • And the Coin Drops

    I’ve been working with Special Ed kids and their families for nearly a decade. It never ceases to amaze me when I learn something from THEM…when the coin drops, when you hear the near audible “click”, that means something fell into place. This morning I was thinking about my new client. I know some Autistic kids have rituals—ways they MUST do things to get them done. Most have no choice…it’s just how it works for them, and I get that.

    But this morning it occurred to me that I have done one HELL of a lot to change my life…but I still have my own “rituals”. Most are based in either fear, or assumptions, but both limit me. So thank you to my new charge…who made me understand that while she may not have a choice in how she goes about something, I DO.

    It’s not easy…but it is simple.
    Upwards, and onwards…again I am faking brave with the best of them!

Comments (5)

  • I think what you do is great and much needed. It’s great we can learn something from such children. Makes sense. 

  • @TheSutraDude - Thanks sweetie…I try to keep the ability to learn in my tool box…it’s ever so useful…and you never know where the next Buddha might be!

  • That must be great to take care of Special children, Lisa. I have taken care of kids in Kindergarten one time, and you can learn so much from them. 

  • You are sharing much needed love and attention with these children. =)
    My sister will be graduating in May as a Special Education Teacher.  She has love and a passion for those children.  Thank you for what you do. =)

  • You and me both and I can fake I am ok and I can do this really good too.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply